The Mid East Regional Authority

The Mid-East Regional Authority, one of the eight Regional Authorities in the Republic of Ireland, covers three counties in the east of the country: namely Kildare, Meath and Wicklow. The Regional Authorities were set up in 1994 to coordinate Regional spatial planning and economic strategies, to set investment priorities for the Region, and to coordinate the delivery of these priorities in partnership with the national delivery agents. A major function of the Regional Authority is to review the implementation in its region of measures in respect of which European financial assistance is made available.

The Mid-East Region is a partner in the Silver Economy Network of European Regions (Sen@er), a European regional initiative which is focused on highlighting the market potential offered by the older age group and improving their quality of life. Working with other European Regions, the Mid-East Region identified and jointly developed Senior Enterprise and has agreed to become Lead Partner in delivering this initiative to a wider regional, national and international audience.

Contact Person:

John Byrne, Director,

Mid-East Regional Authority